The Fall of the Dungeon Guardians - Cons

There is plenty of loot to collect and upgrade your party with, but there are no shops or people to buy and sell with.  It makes sense because you are in a prison dungeon, but also makes the game more boring.

The characters feel very bland.  There is banter between them, but they say the same thing over and over again just using different words.  Every now and again they will say something useful, but overall their conversations act more like sleeping spells.

Despite the myriad of options to tweak the difficulty of the game, there is no option for monster respawning. The developer did say that they wanted players to think tactically rather than being able to grind their way to higher levels to defeat bosses, but the side effect is, backtracking to explore missed areas becomes very boring. Inspired by Might and Magic, but also more boring than Might and Magic. There are options for so many other things, why not monster respawning?

The Fall of the Dungeon Guardians - Biases

I have never played any of the Legend of Grimrock games.  I probably would not have played Fall of the Dungeon Guardians either, but it came in a nice bundle so I thought why not try it out.  Maybe one day I will try out Grimrock too.

I am one of those rare RPG players that did NOT like Eye of the Beholder.  I found it too difficult when I played it years ago.  But I am a big fan of active pause like in Baldur’s Gate and Star Wolves.  Sure enough, I think active pause is what made Fall of the Dungeon Guardians more enjoyable than Eye of the Beholder.

The Fall of the Dungeon Guardians - Other Points

For an RPG The Fall of the Dungeon Guardians has a reverse difficulty progression.  Most RPGs get easier as you level up and so you can explore more areas.  The areas you have explored tend to get easier to deal with.  In this game, areas already explored become downright boring and new areas are more difficult to get through at your higher level than the previous areas at a lower level.  And this is not including boss fights.

Space Hulk: Deathwing - Cons

Multiplayer is a lot of fun… if you can find someone else online. Even on weekends, there are very few people playing online.

It also doesn’t help that multiplayer games do not have drop in/drop out AI replacements like Payday 2. I am sure more people would host multiplayer games if the AI buddies start with you when no other humans are around. Right now, it is just you, alone, by yourself until another human joins your game.

Space Hulk: Deathwing - Pros

The Special Missions section is the single-player skirmish version of randomly generated missions available in multiplayer mode. On the plus side, it does add something extra to do if you have finished the single-player campaign or you just feel like hammering xenos outside of the campaign. Your exploits also contribute to getting upgrades for multiplayer. Unfortunately, there are many minuses to how the Special Missions section was implemented (see cons).

Space Hulk: Deathwing - Cons

There is no difficulty setting for Special Missions and as far as I can tell it is just plain hard. This could be due to my being at a very low level with hardly any upgrades. Regardless, it is not fun to just keep dying in order to upgrade your character.

Another minus is you only get 2 AI buddies so your team is short by 1 member compared to playing multiplayer. Your AI buddies also work identically to the ones in the single-player campaign which severely limits how you can arm and use them. It does not make sense to me why the AI apothecary only has limited heal uses AND can only heal 1 person at a time when a human apothecary has unlimited uses with a cooldown timer and can heal an area as well as individuals.

Space Hulk: Deathwing - Cons

According to the Steam timer, I have only played 17 hours and I have already finished the single-player campaign. I did play on the easiest difficulty of disciple and although I was not exploring or relic hunting, I was not rushing through the game either. This 17 hours also included dying quite a bit, playing a few multiplayer games and some special missions as well. There is no denying, the single-player campaign is very short.